PRINT ARTICLE

Print    Close This Window
19-20 Sports Information - IMPORTANT
As a reminder to all of our student-athletes, you must have a physical prior to participating in preseason athletics. The physical must have been completed after June 1st 2019 to be valid.

Also, we do concussion baseline testing all summer for all our student-athletes. It is recommended that baseline testing be completed every other year. Please contact our Head Athletic Trainer, Ryan Johnson, at rjohnson@avonworth.k12.pa.us to set up your appointment.

Baseline testing typically takes about 30 minutes to complete.

Varsity and MS Football

Varsity and MS Football will begin their pre-season on August 5th with the PIAA mandated heat acclimatization week. Any player wishing to play football must participate in the heat acclimatization week.

They will begin actual preseason practices on Monda,y August 12th.

Please contact Coach Johncour for any high school team questions at djohncour@avonworth.k12.pa.us

For MS Football questions please contact Ed Kurtz at ekurtz@avonworth.k12.pa.us

Boys Varsity and MS Soccer

Boys Varsity and MS Soccer will begin pre-season practice on August 12th at Ohio Township Park. Typically, they have at least two practices a day for the first week beginning at 8 or 9 AM.

The boys also do some summer training and conditioning on Wednesday and Sunday evenings.

Please contact Head Coach Tom Angell at lmangell@comcast.net with specific questions for the high school team.

For MS questions please contact Head Coach Bill White at bwhite@avonworth.k12.pa.us or Jesse Wells at jwells@avonworth.k12.pa.us

Girls Varsity and MS Soccer

Girls Varsity and MS Soccer will begin pre-season practice on August 12th at Ohio Township Park. Typically they have at least two practices a day for the first week beginning at 8 or 9 AM.

The girls also do some summer training and conditioning on Wednesday and Sunday evenings. This year, they have added a girls-only workout for Thursday evenings.

Please contact Head Coach JC Mahan at jcmahan@verizon.net with any specific questions for our high school team.

For MS questions please contact Head Coach Catherine Potter at cpotter@avonworth.k12.pa.us

Varsity and MS  Cross Country

Varsity and MS Cross Country will begin pre-season practice on August 12th at Ohio Township Park. Typically they have at least one practice a day for the first week beginning at 8 or 9 AM.

The team also does some summer runs and conditioning at various times throughout the summer.

Please contact either Head Coach Jason Smith at jsmith@avonworth.k12.pa.us or Sherah Rothman at srothman@avonworth.k12.pa.us with any specific questions for our high school team.

For MS questions please contact Head Coach Steve Tinker at stevetinker6@gmail.com

Volleyball

Volleyball will begin pre-season practice on August 12th at the high school gym. Their practices will begin late afternoon/early evening depending on the coaches schedule.

Please contact our new Head Coach Sarah Doherty for more specific questions at skaczuk@gmail.com

Golf

Golf is a co-op sport with Northgate High School.

Please contact Head Coach  tgoble@northgate.k12.pa.us for tryout dates and tee times.

MS Girls Basketball

MS Girls Basketball will begin after school is in session. The first official practice is on September 25th. Please listen for announcements regarding preseason workouts.

Please contact Kelly Walbush at kwalbush@avonworth.k12.pa.us for any specific questions.
 
Thank you,
Mr. Tim Giel
Athletic Director